You’re Invited: Milaap’s Global and Digital Birthday Celebration

birthdaycakeAt Milaap we believe “when you lend a little, you change a lot.” Back in 2010, we founded Milaap to change the way people give to those in need. Four years later, we’ve seen over 8,000 loans funded and over $1.5 million raised. Thanks to lenders like you, 50,000 of India’s working poor have broken out of the vicious cycle of poverty.

To celebrate Milaap’s 4th birthday, honor our lenders and team and commemorate these exciting milestones, Milaap is throwing a digital birthday party! For 24 hours, beginning at 6:30 am IST on June 16, 2014 (9 pm EDT on June 15, 2014), we’re hosting a round-the-clock online conversation on sustainable giving to give all of our global friends, partners, fellows and employees around the world a chance to join in on the fun. This unique 24-hour event will be hosted across three countries and a range of social networks.

Image: Will Clayton via Flickr, CC 2.0

The 24-hour event includes activities such as a live Google Hangout with Milaap partners, a live Facebook chat with Milaap founders, highlighting inspirational stories of Milaap borrowers and videos from Milaap Champions.

To join the event follow Milaap on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and Google+ and join in on the conversation using #Milaap4Hope. An hour-by-hour calendar of events will continue to be populated below:

1. Hour #1: 9-10PM ET – 6:30-7:30AM IST – 9-10AM SGT

  • What: Kick-Off & Milaap Milestones and History
  • Where: #Milaap4Hope – Facebook and Twitter

2. Hour #2: 10-11PM ET – 7:30-8:30AM IST – 10-11AM SGT

  • What: Borrower Profiles
  • Where: #Milaap4Hope – Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

3. Hour #3: 11-12PM ET – 8:30-9:30AM IST – 11AM-12PM SGT

  • What: Milaap Outcomes
  • Where: #Milaap4Hope – Facebook and Twitter

Milaap Infographic - Final

About author View all posts

Sourabh Sharma

CEO & Co-founder

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  • I’m truly impressed with the global spotlight on this issue for women in India as well as the chance to participate. I have been a Kiva funder for years, and am impressed with how important a few dollars is to new entrepreneurs in India and throughout the world. The message you’re sending about the plight of Indian women is critical, and I hope you earn high levels of support with your global campaign.

    • Hi Soulati, thank you so much for your kind words and wishes. We would like you to join us for our Birthday celebration on June 16th. That would be a great chance to meet you and also, for you it would be great to learn more about the work we are into. Look forward to seeing you join our community. :-)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


6 + = twelve

− one = eight

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -